Join 11,028 Signatories
from 115 Countries
We respect your privacy. Your information will never
be sold nor shared without your permission.
Founding Signatories
  • James O’Dea – Author
  • Stephen Dinan – The Shift Network
  • Glenn Parry – SEED Graduate Institute
  • Philip Hellmich – Summer of Peace
  • Claudia Sobrevilla – Environmentalist
  • Bruce Lipton – Author
  • Nina Meyeroff – Children of the Earth
  • Diane Williams – Source of Synergy Foundation
  • Barbara Fields – Assoc. for Global New Thought
  • Kathy Gardarian – Qualis International
  • David Gershon – Empowerment Institute
  • Deborah Moldow – World Peace Prayer Society
  • Lynnea Lumbard – New Stories
  • Gordon Dveirin – The Claritas Institute
  • Ocean Robbins – The Food Revolution Network
  • Rinaldo Brutoco – World Business Academy
  • Rick Ulfik – We, The World
  • Terry Patten – Bay Area Integral

Humanity faces a time in our evolving story when we must harvest our deepest collective wisdom in order to survive and even thrive as a healthy, peaceful and sustainable planetary civilization.

In the course of humanity’s journey we have many great achievements to celebrate and honor but we have to acknowledge what has been misguided, damaging to each other and harmful to all life. It is time for healing and a new beginning.

Great skill is now needed to reconnect the bonds of our collective interdependence on behalf of all of Earth’s diverse peoples and cultures and to restore an original contract with our planet’s eco-system and its intricate design for all life.

We cannot evolve skillfully at this vital juncture in our collective story if we fail to integrate the teachings of our wisdom keepers.

Both reason and conscience require that the precious wisdom of Earth’s Indigenous peoples be fully acknowledged. Their skillful ways of living in harmony with Nature and its laws have too often been marginalized and ignored.

Humanity has paid a great price for destructive actions committed against Indigenous peoples. In the name of religion, profit and progress, some of humanity’s greatest knowledge about the interrelationship of all life forms has been placed in jeopardy.

Increasing numbers of people now recognize the importance of supporting the transmission of this essential wisdom.

It is in this spirit of deep recognition and appreciation for the value of Indigenous wisdom that we, the signatories to this declaration, hereby proclaim our commitment to the following:

Apology is due to Indigenous peoples for the suppression and violation of their cultures and ways of being. We invite communities, institutions, local authorities and governments to formally and informally offer sincere apology for past actions that resulted in cultural oppression and denigration.

Responsibility for past violations, wounding and discrimination must be expressed in truthful historical narratives and educational materials. We recommend the formation of local and national initiatives to take responsibility for the past and explore the nature of Indigenous wisdom. We encourage support for the production of a wide array of accessible media and curricular materials to set the record straight and ensure the accurate and appropriate transmission of Native wisdom teachings.

Reconciliation must be sought so that healing may occur between Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples. We call on representatives of public and private institutions to seek ways to engage in meaningful acts and processes of reconciliation through ceremony, presentations and gatherings.

Collaboration in multiple contexts relating to health, environment, sustainable economies and educational opportunities will constitute an essential dimension of expressing sincere apology, acknowledging responsibility and fostering reconciliation. To these ends we encourage collaboration with Indigenous communities and institutions to optimize our collective learning and healing in this pivotal time for all humanity.

We, the undersigned, pledge our commitment to these ideals and the promotion of concrete actions to support respect for Indigenous peoples, a shared partnership for life on Earth and the transmission of our collective wisdom:

Signed by:
173 - Joan Dionne Chamberlain, Shelburne, NH, United States 174 - Kate McBride, Lancaster, United Kingdom
175 - Nadirah Adeye, Sonoma, CA, United States 176 - Michelle Johnson, Graton, CA, United States
177 - Nancy Pribble, Hockessin, DE, United States 178 - Liane Salgado, Chapel Hill, NC, United States
179 - Marie Mitchell, Longmont, CO, United States 180 - Rosie Cohen, Plano, TX, United States
181 - Bobbi Lempert, Paia, HI, United States 182 - Linda Mickle, Ben Lomond, CA, United States
183 - Ron Steward, Laguna Woods, CA, United States 184 - Joanna Gibson, Johnson City, TN, United States
185 - Carla Hernandez, Arouca, Trinidad & Tobago 186 - tamara thebert, castro valley, CA, United States
187 - Tobey Crockett, Cambria, CA, United States 188 - Michelle Madgett, Atascadero, CA, United States
189 - Lianne Thompson, Cannon Beach, OR, United States 190 - John Reid, Atascadero, CA, United States
191 - Martina Sanchez, Atascadero, CA, United States 192 - Carla Goddard, Crystal Springs, FL, United States
193 - Mona Minnaar, Roodepoort, South Africa 194 - Corrina adams, san diego, CA, United States
195 - Francesca Bolognini, Cambria, CA, United States 196 - Mike Spradling, San Diego, CA, United States
197 - nola mason, Minden, LA, United States 198 - Wendy Lapainis, Airdrie, Non-USA, Canada
199 - Hua Anwa, Arroyo Grande, CA, United States 200 - Denyse Matoska, Brookfield, IL, United States
201 - Lynn Rocha, Phoenix, AZ, United States 202 - JoRae Michira, Brooklyn Park, MN, United States
203 - Reyes Garcia, Antonito, CO, United States 204 - Sylvie Guilbeault, Lefaivre, Non-USA, Canada
205 - Carole Carlton, Gibsons, Non-USA, Canada 206 - Tracy Davis, Antonito, CO, United States
207 - Michael Raspantini, Huntingon, NY, United States 208 - Allen Hurst, Park Hills, Bonne Terre, MO, United States
209 - james odea, crestone, CO, United States 210 - sean durkee, ouray, CO, United States
211 - Barbara Müller, Finkenstein, Austria 212 - Susan Peaslee, Lehigh Acres, FL, United States
213 - Dorothy Wright, LaGrange, GA, United States 214 - Lorna Kepes, Northampton, MA, United States
215 - Sandy Sheinman, Gaithersburg, MD, United States 216 - Judith Magers Bailey, Mayfield, KY, United States
217 - Mindy Sperling Mercado, Hopkinton, MA, United States 218 - Jan Johnson, Hagerstown, MD, United States
219 - jan cernecky, Detva, Non-USA, Slovakia 220 - Colleen Buron, Oakdale, MN, United States
221 - Ruan Malan, Wellington, Non-USA, New Zealand 222 - Karen Connors, Montreal, Canada